Department unveils DEI statement, committee, resources
The Department of Communication has created a Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion committee and a page has been created that includes a statement, difinitions, brief entries by each committee member, and resources. In time the page will include research, activities, and relevant articles and information. 
Tue, 04/19/2022 - 4:55pm
Ed Ackerley Acknowledged For Long-Time Devotion to Teaching
Dr. Ackerley received this acknowledgement on September 9 at the American Advertising Federation Tucson Advertising Federation Education Foundation Annual Awards Ceremony. Dr. Ackerley is an adjunct instructor of marketing at Eller and of the Communication Department. To read the full article, visit: To learn more about Dr. Ackerley, visit:
Tue, 09/21/2021 - 3:22pm
Congratulations to Yejin Shin for passing her oral defense!
Please join us in congratulating Yejin Shin who successfully passed the oral defense of her dissertation, The institutionalization of online education before and during the COVID-19 Pandemic: An analysis of universities' Discourse use. Yejin will be joining the faculty at Northeastern Illinois University this fall as an Assistant Professor of Organizational Communication. We wish her the best in her future endeavors! To learn more about Dr. Shin, visit:
Thu, 08/12/2021 - 9:45am
Top Paper Awards at #AEJMC21
The Department of Communication proudly congratulates Dr. Dam Hee Kim for receiving two top paper awards and graduate student Josh von Herrmann, who co-authored on one of these, from the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication at the 2021 annual conference.. Best Faculty Paper Award Predicting Twitter Engagement with the Oscar-Winning Parasite: Through the Theoretical Lens of Country-of-Origin    Dam Hee Kim, Arizona   Kyung Jung Han, California State, Bakersfield   and... Read more
Wed, 08/11/2021 - 2:05pm
2021-2022 Undergraduate Scholarship & Award Winners
We are proud to announce the recipients of this coming academic year's scholarships and awards. Congratulations to all and we wish them a successful year ahead! Brenna Ilana Berger Memorial Scholarship Lilian E. Quintero (top left photo) Wednesday Reedy (top right photo) David A. Williams Undergraduate Scholarship Katja Didier (bottom right photo) Marcy Finerman Lewis Scholarship Bryan Savic (bottom left photo) The Natalia and Nadezhda Gaganova Award for 2021 Katja Didier (bottom right photo)... Read more
Mon, 05/24/2021 - 4:03pm
Eller’s AdTEAM Takes Second Place In American Advertising Federation National Student Competition
Congratulations to Eller's AdTeam who placed second in a competition at the American Advertising Federation's Annual National Student Competition. “The students were well prepared and offered a creative Hot Spot and strategic campaign for the competition,” says Marketing Instructor Ed Ackerley, the team’s faculty advisor. Ed Ackerley is a faculty member in the Department of Marketing and the Department of Communication.
Mon, 05/24/2021 - 3:35pm
2020-2021 Graduate Scholarship & Award Winners
Communication Graduate Director Jennifer Stevens Aubrey presented graduate student awards at the department's Fall Zoom Orientation. The awardees were chosen by the Graduate Admissions Committee based on their performance during the 2019-2020 academic year. Congratulations to the following: Eunjoo Choi (top left photo) - Ed Donnerstein Media Research Scholarship Amanda R. Cooper (top middle-left photo) - Margaret Hickey Award Kaylin Duncan (top middle-right photo) - Teaching Award Alice Fanari... Read more
Fri, 01/08/2021 - 12:26pm
PRSSA Club Wins Certificate of Excellence, Advisor Wins Award
Congratulations to the UArizona PRSSA Chapter for winning a Certificate of Excellence from the PRSA of Southern Arizona Chapter for their promotional campaign on the Brenna Ilana Berger Scholarship and their advisor Carolyn Smith Casertano for receiving the PR Professional of the Year award!
Fri, 01/08/2021 - 11:50am
Amanda R. Cooper receives Master's Thesis Award at NCA 2020
Amanda Cooper, doctoral student, received the Communication and Aging Division of the National Communication Association Master’s Thesis Award on her thesis titled, “Turbulence and Transformation: Caregiving Spouses’ Use of Communication in Managing and Sustaining Relationship Across the Prolonged Transition of Alzheimer’s Disease and Related Dementias”.
Fri, 01/08/2021 - 11:27am
Kory Floyd Wins Prestigious Mark L. Knapp Award in Interpersonal Communication
Wed, 09/09/2020 - 1:20pm


College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Quick Links