Breast Cancer Research Has Latina, Rural Focus

The newest grant received by the UA's Chris Segrin and Terry Badger centers on women who often have limited access to health care services.

Chris Segrin and Terry Badger are working to reduce symptoms of depression, anxiety and fatigue in breast cancer patients and their family members. To recruit patients, the research team will travel to rural communities to meet with providers and community health workers, among other tactics. (Photo: Kristen Hanning, AHS BioCommunications)  Read more at:

Related Topic(s): 

Photo: Kristen Hanning, AHS BioCommunications

Lamba Pi Eta Application Deadline

Are you passionate about communication? Looking for networking opportunities and people with similar interests? If you said yes, then Lambda Pi Eta is for you!

Lambda Pi Eta is an on-campus honor society for Communication majors. We meet every three weeks on Thursday nights at 6pm. Our meetings feature guest speakers, networking opportunities, resume workshops, and more. We also participate in philanthropy events in the local Tucson community as well as various social events.

Related Topic(s): 

Event time: 

Mon, 09/28/2015 - 11:59pm

Professor Joseph Bonito receives the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences Dean's Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching

Please join the Department of Communication on congratulating Joe Bonito for receiving the 2014-2015 College of Social and Behavioral Sciences Dean's Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching.

“Joe is most deserving of this award and has made major contributions to our graduate curriculum for the better part of the past 20 years,” said Communication Department Head, Chris Segrin. 

Related Topic(s): 

Communication Department 2015 Berger Scholarship Award Winners

Congratulations to Cicely White-Lee and René Aguirre-Garcia, the 2015 Berger Memorial Scholarship Award winners.  Now in its third year, the Brenna Ilana Berger Memorial Scholarship has been awarded to four outstanding communication majors with disparate life experiences but a common perseverance, resilience, and commitment to education.  Read about the family behind the scholarship and the student recipients here:

Related Topic(s): 

Dr. Kyle Tusing, Cicely White-Lee, René Aguirre-Garcia, and Dr. Chris Segrin


Subscribe to The Department of Communication RSS
College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Quick Links