Current faculty, alums Tokunaga and Wright among top COMM scholars

Communication Professors Jake Harwood, Stephen Rains, Chris Segrin, and Kory Floyd, as well as alums Robert Tokunaga (Ph.D., 2012) and Paul Wright (Ph.D., 2011), have been identified as among the top 2% most influential Communication and Media Studies scholars (and in the case of Dr. Segrin, Social Psychology scholars) of the last 60 years (1960-2021). A research team led by a Stanford School of Medicine Professor developed the ranking database, which was published by Elsevier<>. Influence rankings were based on a variety of citation metrics and calculated across a number of scientific fields and subfields. Dr. Tokunaga is an Associate Professor of Communication in the University of Texas system and Dr. Wright is Professor and Director of Communication Science at Indiana University’s flagship Bloomington Campus. Previously, research published in Communication Education<> found that Drs. Tokunaga and Rains were in the top 1% of publication productivity in central communication journals and Dr. Wright was in the top 1% of publication productivity across communication and media journals, in general.

Published Date: 

10/31/2022 - 1:36am

Related Topic(s): 

College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Quick Links